go mamas go

Mother’s Day is in a week.  No breakfast in bed for me, I will be trudging through 13.1 miles of pavement with thousands other women.  What a great way to celebrate being a Mama!  As mothers we tend to sacrifice ourselves for the benefit of our children.  It is sometimes hard for me to remember that taking care of myself is the best thing I can do for my son.  If I am fit and healthy, I am a better mom.   I used to hate running before training for this half marathon.  Now that I have slowly built up to long distance running, I am hooked.  I mainly trail run.  It makes me feel like a kid, bouncing over rocks  and streams and getting muddy.  I feel free and light.  If I am stressed, I can feel the stress drain off me each mile I run.  If you have a problem, an hour of running can bring you clarity and resolve.   It is the perfect activity for us Mamas.  All you need is a pair of shoes and motivation.  It is time for yourself.

Cheers to all the Mamas running next Sunday.  You are setting an example to your family that Mama’s health and time is important.  Just as important as time with your kids.  Krista and I are looking forward to the sense of accomplishment and the Mimosas afterward.

run on,
Dayl

3 Comments

Filed under Fitness

3 responses to “go mamas go

  1. I’m in the process of training for my first half-marathon now. It’s a lot of work but totally worth it. Hope yours went well! 😉

  2. Krista, a half marathon would NOT make me feel like a kid again! It would take me months to recover! Yikes! You just enjoy the heck out of all that!

  3. Hi there! I’ll be hitting that pavement with you sister at the Hippie Chick next Sunday and hope up see you next Friday at Dad and Eva’s. Love the blog!

We'd like to hear from you

