Doubletree is really stepping it up a notch or two.

I had the pleasure of attending Bloggy Boot Camp this weekend in Seattle with my good friend Vivian from The Vivacious Gourmand. When I looked in to the conference hotel, I saw “Hilton” and said, “Hooray!” Then I saw “Doubletree,” and I said, “Awwww.”

But Hilton Doubletree Seattle Airport impressed me. The room was clean and lovely, the amenities were luxurious, and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. It was definitely more Hilton than Doubletree, at least my old perception of Doubletree.

I paid the extra $10 to have a “fee-free” room, so parking and internet access were included in the room cost. This is a great deal, because overnight parking is typically $20 and internet is $12.95-14.95 depending on where you look.

I declined to pay an additional $10 for a mountain view room, but the staff person who checked us in was gracious enough to give us a lovely room. We were initially given a room on the 6th floor overlooking the airport, but we kindly asked if there was anything better and she kindly gave us a 10th floor room looking out at Mt. Ranier. Ahhh, that’s better!

Objects out the balcony are closer than they appear.

Kindness goes a loooong way, no?

We had a slight hiccup with the internet access. After 20 minutes on the phone with three different people, I still wasn’t able to get connected. I’ve got to tell you – at a blogging conference, I kind of want my internet access!! But at a certain point, it was not worth the time it was taking out of my day, so I gave up.

I mentioned the problem to the front desk clerk upon check-out, and she assured us she would rectify the situation. Ever astute, Vivian suggested that perhaps they could put something towards our breakfast, since that was our next stop. “Of course,” the woman said, as I was filling out my comment card. She gave us extremely generous credit towards breakfast, which we made full use of, I tell you.

We ordered Lox Benedict and the most dreamy corned-beef hash with poached eggs. I don’t know if we were just famished, but that breakfast was DEE LISH US. I was really impressed with the quality of the food, and even more impressed with the staff’s willingness (and empowerment!) to take care of us when something went wrong.

Kudos to the management for attending to the details, and for encouraging your staff to be so friendly and accommodating. I felt very well taken care of, and it was a delight to stay in the lovely room overlooking the trees and mountain.  And kudos to SITS Girls for choosing well when placing the Bloggy Boot Camp conference!

~Krista

4 Comments

Filed under Travel

4 responses to “Doubletree is really stepping it up a notch or two.

  1. Did they give you cookies when you checked in? That’s my favorite part of the Doubletree! #CommentHour

    • I somehow missed the cookies upon check-in, but when I asked about it on day 2, “What’s everyone going on and on about with these cookies??”, they quickly brought us some warm & gooey cookies. They were spectacular, I have to say.

  2. GREAT accurate review my dear. We had so much fun looking at Mt. Ranier and quaffing a little Cameron Pinot, didn’t we?

We'd like to hear from you

