The First Day of the Fairy Garden

{Originally posted on kristamamaswan.blogspot.com on April 12, 2011. Since the Fairy Garden has grown up so much, I wanted to show how it started. Watch for more posts on the latest developments!}

I’m building a fairy garden with my kids and one of our neighbor kids. I should say, I’m building it for me and occasionally I remember to try to include them. They are all loving it, actually, and I’m looking forward to us having this project to tinker with all summer.
It started with some cutesy little flowers I picked up at the Trillium Festival a few weeks back. When I started adding them to the trillium, columbine and maidenhair fern I bought at last year’s festival, it all seemed so delicate and whimsical. And a fairy garden was born…
Half the fun has been seeking treasures and found objects to add to it. I raided my “I’ll fix this someday” box of broken jewelry and pulled out some treasures that I know I’m not really going to fix.

Here’s our progress so far. I have to agree with our neighbor girl and co-creator when she says, “Now I just wish we could make ourselves small so we could play in the garden!”

The "Great House" meeting hall (in process), with earring chandelier & jeweled bracelet fence and the beginning of the twig boardwalk.We chose these little white flowers because they look exactly like what we think fairy dresses should be. I. Love. Them.

While we were working, an actual ladybug flew in to enjoy the garden. This seemed auspicious!

Anna creating her "Jeweled Flower"

The Frog Bard, serenading the soon-to-come dancing fairies

More on the Fairy Garden:

Moonlight in the Fairy Garden

Flower Painting & Planting

Trillium Festival

Happy Fairy Gardening,

~Krista

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Nature

4 responses to “The First Day of the Fairy Garden

  1. Pingback: The Secret World of Arrietty | Mostly Mommyhood

  2. Ixy

    How magical for a little girl! I’ll have to keep this in mind for my daughter as she gets older.

  3. What fun!! My oldest daughter would love this!!

  4. Great photo in your header and love the stories behind the mamas! Have a beautiful day ladies!

We'd like to hear from you

