I killed it, cleaned it, cooked it, and ate it. So there.

I almost gave up.

When faced with hurting that fish, I almost gave up. I looked at my horrified daughter, and thought… we don’t have to do this.

But then I told myself, “If you’re going to eat fish, you may as well be a part of the process.” So I thanked that fish for feeding my family, and moved on!

Really, we all had a fun time, and I’m so glad that my kids are learning where their food comes from. Plus, we got to hang with two of our rad neighbor families.

The beauty of Horning’s Hideout is you don’t need to know A THING about fishing. They have all the equipment and expertise you need.

Here’s a little of our adventure today:

Yuck. I'm not sure what was more unsettling... pinching an inch of worm off from the rest of it's body, or squishing it on to the hook. Turns out the fish didn't like worms anyway, not with "power bait" available. I think it might be similar to the difference between broccoli and Doritos.

The boys learning the ropes

Eric & Leif, the two little guys, were on self-assigned net duty.

Just Jack thought my hands smelled pretty good after handling a few fish.

No, I should not have been wearing cashmere. But who knew?

Brian and Anna out on the island. So beautiful!

Caleb is getting it done.

Lola took care of at least half the fish. This girl is not squeamish!

Eric & Leif planted themselves on this perch and took turns brushing the scales off the fish.

Fresh-caught rainbow trout dredged in flour & pan fried, then drizzled with lemon garlic butter and fresh parsley. Skin, tail & bones practically fell off all in one piece after it was cooked. The flour kept it from sticking to the pan.

 

We loved our dinner. I plan on doing this again, so I need some more trout recipes!

~Krista

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Food, Nature

8 responses to “I killed it, cleaned it, cooked it, and ate it. So there.

  1. Love it! I’d never heard of Horning’s Hideout until recently and now I hear it a lot! Thinking of camping there soon ourselves.

    • There were people camping there, it looked pretty cool. There’s a big play structure for the kids, and free-range peacocks & peahens roaming around. They even have little pedal boats you can rent to tool around the pond. You should check it out!

  2. All I can say is..you rocked fishing in that fabulous dress? Good for you!

  3. Nick W

    This is so cool. I love it. I love that you’re teaching the kids “where their food comes from.” More and More we’re trying to get back to natural foods and this is the best way to live that. Way to have a bonding day.

    Thanks for sharing…

  4. Loving that picture of you with the worm!

We'd like to hear from you

