I put toothpaste on my zits

Yes, I have zits. Who knew menopause would bring pimples? Well, probably anyone who has been through it. Since I started menopause at the ripe young age of 39 (I’m 40 now), only about half my friends have experienced this. It’s not something they usually think to discuss with me (why would they, I probably shouldn’t have to deal with this for another few years!), so I find myself in the dark and searching the interwebz for information. Truly, the girlfriends are awesome once I tell them I’m in the club, and their advice has been invaluable. I just don’t usually know that what I’m experiencing is menopause-related until after the fact. BECAUSE NOBODY HAS MENTIONED IT.

Anywhoo… pimples. zits. yuck.

I remembered that when I was a teenager, a dab of toothpaste put on at night would dry up a pimple overnight. It’s got to be the paste kind, though – not the gel. Works like a charm.

I also use toothpaste to clean my diamond wedding rings. They’re so sparkly afterward!

Eric just decorated our cherry-stained-oak kitchen cabinets with a silver fat-tipped Sharpie, so Brian did a little web research and learned that toothpaste should remove it. It did! It got me thinking that toothpaste might be the wonder-fixer.

I just stumbled across this list of household uses for toothpaste, so here – for your edification – I present,

Things To Do With Toothpaste Besides Brushing Your Teeth:*

1. Deodorize hands • wash your hands with some toothpaste to get rid of persistent odors, such as garlic, onions or fish.

2. Whiten sneakers • Clean rubber soles by rubbing toothpaste (on an old toothbrush) – again, non-gel toothpaste.

3. (this is new for me, I have never tried this – yet) Buff a DVD • apparently, you can get rid of light scratches – not the kind inflicted by the likes of my children! – by putting some non-gel toothpaste onto a cotton ball, and gently wiping from the center out to the edge. Rinse (duh) and dry with a lint-free cloth. Cool, I will have to try that.

So what other uses for toothpaste (or other common household items) have you found?

Please share!

~Krista

*The list is courtesy of this post, which I found via Stumble Upon

7 Comments

Filed under Family

7 responses to “I put toothpaste on my zits

  1. Hey! I just bought this awesome antique scale at the thrift store today. They had written the price on the side of it, half on, half off, the tag in SHARPIE! Guess what got it off? Yep, good old toothpaste. Thanks for the tip, dear!

  2. Pingback: I’m taking the Crunchy Betty Honey Challenge! | Mostly Mommyhood

  3. Bonnie

    It works wonders for polishing silver too! I will have to try the other applications as I have sharpie on my dining room table that I have not been able to get off and hate using a table cloth with little ones as it is immediately dirty…Thanks for sharing this great tip!

    • I was amazed at the Sharpie removal. I was SO BUMMED when I saw the copious quantity of silver markings all over my gorgeous cabinets. But seriously, they’re all gone. I wish I had taken pictures, it’s that remarkable!

  4. Off to clean my DVDs! Thanks for the tip!

We'd like to hear from you

