Mamavation Monday: setting goals

My daughter was 10 months old, and I was 40 lbs overweight. 30 lbs heavier than I had been when I got pregnant with her, but of course there’s always another 10, isn’t there?

I decided that if I didn’t jump on it, I might never lose the weight. So I did. I started a Weight Watchers group at work, I worked out several times a week, and I lost 30 pounds in 3 months. Not only that, but the other people in our Weight Watchers group at work collectively lost about 200 pounds in that time.

I don’t know why I didn’t approach it the same way after I had Eric. That boy just turned 4 years old, and look at me – still 20 pounds heavier than I was than when I got pregnant with him.

So…

Now is when I have to kick myself in gear, no?

My goals:

I’m currently 160 pounds. I’d like to be 136.

IMMEDIATE GOAL: Run at least 2x a week, preferably 3x. Continue to eat healthy foods, and try to avoid the tater tots at Kennedy School. Eat small snacks all through the day and avoid big meals where I overdo it. Work yoga back in to my schedule, because I love it and I miss it.

FOUR MONTH GOAL: I will lose those pounds by February. I’m giving myself more time because I’m older, I guess. It just seems to take longer now. Menopause probably has a lot to do with that. It sucks, but it’s a reality I have to factor in.

TWO YEAR GOAL: I have to be in vigilant mode to maintain the weight loss of two whole years. By now, after 6 years of pregnancies and being 30 lbs overweight, my body wants to stay here. So I have to retrain it.

LONG TERM GOAL: Life long health! Children with healthy bodies and healthy attitudes about food & weight. That’s not too much to ask, is it???

How about you? What healthy living goals do you have?

~Krista
Mamavation

Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness, Food

We'd like to hear from you

