Time for a Change!

I work in an ER and the American Diet is killing us.  Obesity is as harmful to our health as smoking.  Most of the patients coming through the ER are on a fistful of medications and are over weight.  Drop the weight, drop some of the meds.  I know this is old news, but its time people take their health in their own hands and make a change.  How do  you do it?  Nutrition.  I recently watched “Forks Over Knifes”  and I am so inspired.  It is simple.  Eat a plant based, whole food  diet.  Cut down on the meat and avoid processed foods.  People say it is too expensive.   I once heard, “It’s better to pay the grocer than the doctor.”  Yesterday I bought a bag full of veggies to make a soup.   It was ten dollars.  It made enough soup for ten people.   Not bad.  I like to tell my patients, “shop on the perimeter of the grocery store.”

What is heart breaking to me, is our children.  Teenagers are being diagnosed with high cholesterol and Type II diabetes.  It sets them up for a long life of poor health.  I am as guilty as the next mother.  I have had a bag of chicken nuggets in my freezer.  But I want to try harder for my son and get him off on the right foot.   It does take a little more work, but aren’t we worth it? 

Fun Whole food Chocolate Pudding.

In a food processor add

a small banana

1/2 an avocado

2 tbsp honey

1 tbsp coca powder

2 tbsp  of coconut oil

1/2 tsp vanilla

Blend until smooth.  It is so yummy and tastes just like chocolate pudding.  You can adjust the recipe to taste.  Even my picky toddler ate it.  Eat it up because it doesn’t keep well. 

Good eating,

Dayl

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Food

2 responses to “Time for a Change!

  1. Anitha

    Well said…My kid is eating too much Chocolate, Candies and Cookies. I hate this three C’s. This is good alternative. I would love to try.

  2. Dayl, I am looking forward to trying that pudding this weekend!!
    ~K

We'd like to hear from you

