How we Celebrate Advent

Well, it has been a while!  The great thing about sharing a blog with Krista is that she takes me for what I am, and accepts me for what I can offer.  She is a True Friend.

Christmas is coming!  Our family is gearing up, and it is time to count the days.  We love to literally mark the days by using an Advent calendar.  Over the years I have found that celebrating Advent as a family really helps kids to focus on the reason we even have this season of giving.  Every night we are home, we take the time to focus on the Christmas story, and check off another day- getting us closer and closer to the 25th!

I wanted to share my advent calendar with you.  Several years ago my very talented sister-in-law and I got together and made our own calendars, melding together ideas we saw in catalogs and magazines and our brilliant minds. 🙂  The kids love to hang the tiny ornaments on little grommets on the beautiful little felt trees.  When they were younger I would put little candies in the pockets for them to find each night.

Here are a few pictures of our calendar.  Many blessings to you and your family this Christmas!

-Jeni

  The trees and stars are all made of felt, and are attached by glue gun.  The great thing about felt is that it doesn’t fray.  I used metal grommets purchased at Michael’s in the scrapbooking section for the ornament hangers.  I purchased tiny ornaments at JoAnn Fabric that fit perfectly in the pockets.

  The numbers on these little pockets were hand stenciled with gold fabric paint by my sister-in-law.  I sewed them on very simply with my sewing machine.  Each individual pocket is divided by a seam.

  We used a wooden dowel sewn into a simple pocket sleeve and attached grosgrain ribbon for hanging.

2 Comments

Filed under About Us, Family, Home

2 responses to “How we Celebrate Advent

  1. Love this!! This is the first year that our oldest son will start to “get” Advent and it’s overwhelming to think about how to make it meaningful. Your calendar is beautiful!

  2. Jeni, I love this! I’ve been trying to nail down an advent calendar idea for us and I’m running out of time. Thanks for posting this!

We'd like to hear from you

