Holiday Budget: don’t blow it!

I don’t actually go shopping very often for anything other than groceries or things for the kids. I think about it quite a bit, but I rarely take time to do it. Mainly because I have other things to spend my money on than fun things for me. I get most of my clothes from naked lady parties and my fashionable friends’ castoffs.

So whenever I have an excuse a need to actually go buy things – like presents for other people – I inevitably find a lot of things I want to buy for me.

So how does one stay on budget with all of this temptation?

Easy: I don’t use credit cards.

I make a list of all the people for whom I am buying presents, and jot down ideas for each one {Actually, I have a running list going pretty much all year}. Then I figure out how much I have to spend based on – wait – this is radical – how much money I actually have. I know this seems crazy and weird. And maybe even un-American. But there you have it.

This year, I plan to use my Marqeta card to do as much of my shopping as possible. Marqeta is like a pre-paid debit card, where you commit to spend a certain amount of money at a merchant, and the merchant then gives you additional dollars to spend. For example, I load my card with $125 for Finnegan’s Toys & Gifts, and I get an additional $25 to spend there. Who doesn’t love free money? One of their merchants is a kitchenware/household goods store – and it looks pretty good, with everything from kitchen gadgets to toys.

All this won’t stop me from actually taking a day to go shopping downtown with Dayl, mind you. It’s too much fun and such a rare pleasure!

How about you? How do you stay on budget during the holidays?

Cheerfully and frugally,
~Krista

Mamavation is a community dedicated to healthy living for women.

Disclosure: I am a Marqeta Mom Ambassador, but as always, all opinions are my own.

9 Comments

Filed under Fitness

9 responses to “Holiday Budget: don’t blow it!

  1. Pingback: From a Marqeta Mom: Marqeta Means More « marQetplace

  2. Appriceation for this information is over 9000-thank you!

  3. Pingback: Marqeta Means More | Mostly Mommyhood

  4. I’ve never heard of Marqueta. Sounds interesting! I just signed up for ebates since I do a lot of my Christmas shopping online.

    I’m glad you linked your post up so we can all comment. 🙂

  5. way to go on the no credit cards. We don’t have any credit cards either. I once had a target card at beginning of our marriage that I had gotten before I got married, and couldn’t pay off. my MIL graciously paid it off for us, we paid her back and we have not had a credit card since. My husband’s philosophy and at first I wasn’t big on the idea, but it is a wonderful idea. Only problem is now I have no credit, but it has saved me debt. 🙂

  6. I also shop with money I actually have not credit cards. Isn’t it funny how foreign a concept it is to people to not overspend, or live beyond their means? Have a great week!

  7. That’s what I do too! Great idea! 🙂

  8. Imagine that…shopping with real money…crazy, lol. I love it! Smart woman. Nothing is more stressful than debt, unless you throw your inlaws in the mix, (did I say that?!).
    So glad you posted this week where I caught it. I love your ideas; party, card, money, etc. Great sense of humor too!

We'd like to hear from you

