Twinkle Twinkle Little Snowflake

Swarovski Snowflake Star, the 2005 version on my tree last year.

I splurged on a beautiful crystal star ornament the year Brian and I got married. It cost $50, which seemed like a fortune at the time, but it was so beautiful, and had a little silver tag that read, “2001.” I wanted it as a keepsake from the year we got married. The next year, the price had gone up to $55, but I decided to get the 2002 version anyway. Now of course, I have to get one every year! I’m stuck!

Dayl got in to the tradition as well, and together we would visit the Swarovski store in Downtown Portland and buy our annual ornaments. A couple years ago, though, Dayl discovered something: the very same ornaments are available on Amazon fro $10-30 less than in the store!

I protested at first, “But Dayl, it’s so much fun to go to the store together and buy our ornaments!”

Her wise response: “Yes, but is is $30 worth of fun?”

Yeah, not so much.

The 2011 snowflake looks GORGEOUS, and of course it’s my 10th Christmas being married to Brian. The kids love looking at each year of the Swarovski Snowflake, and we discuss significant things that happened each year. Anna got a little annoyed last year that I wouldn’t actually let her put them on the tree, maybe I’ll let her help with them this year.

On Amazon, it’s $60. In stores, it’s $75. I for one can spend that $15 on some other things!

What special splurges or traditions do you do for the holidays each year?

Happy holidays,
~Krista

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Home

4 responses to “Twinkle Twinkle Little Snowflake

  1. My sisters and I have a tequila-fest. Not as sweet as your tradition, but interesting all the same.

  2. That’s awesome, Niki! I love traditions like that. I only wish I had bought an extra 2005 & 2007 snowflakes (the years the kids were born) so they could have them.

  3. Nicole Poole

    Every year since I was pregnant I have purchased an angel. So far this year I have been unable to find one I like and it’s frustrating lol. I can’t wait till my son is old enough to understand why they are so special.

We'd like to hear from you

