Birthday Bliss

“I come to the sea to breathe.”

I once received a notebook from then-Cannon Beach artist and poet Mary Anne Radmacher with those words written on the front. I think of them every time I visit the Oregon Coast. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll take just about any ocean beach, but the Oregon Coast is where my compass gets reset, my inner tides get aligned, and where I find myself.

It’s no wonder, then, that I long for the beach on my birthday.

Eric’s school auction was Saturday, preventing us from spending even one night, so a day trip would have to do. And it did!  We were blessed with an amazingly fantastic day. While I missed out on sitting in a cabin drinking wine watching the ocean planning out my goals for the year (I’ll take a raincheck on that activity), I’ll still call it a success.

We went to Gearhart, where a 10-mile stretch of beach is car-friendly. The only reason this is important is because it’s so much easier to deal with kids and sand at the beach at sunset when we can drive right out there and then not have to hike back out to the car after dark. We love Smuggler’s Cove and Manzanita for daytime beach play, but for sunset – we drive out past Gearhart.

Here are a few pics from the day. We were fortunate enough to have my brother Jeff join us, so we put him to work as staff photographer. Thanks, Brother!

Image

pink light makes me happy

Image

Eric and Brian enjoying a snuggle on the top of our climbing structure.

Image

as silly as we want to be

Image

horses heading south at dusk...

Image

We stay off the higher dunes so as to not disturb the grasses, but a little bit of duney sand play is usually in order.

Image

I just can't get enough of silver sunlight on water. It brings me peace like nothing else.

Image

We parked near this big old tree, I think it must have washed up in the recent storms. Can you imagine this big thing bobbing around the ocean?

Image

The view south, toward Gearhart and Seaside.

Image

...and horses heading north at sunset!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Nature, Oregon, Travel

One response to “Birthday Bliss

We'd like to hear from you

